‘Rainbow’ White Chocolate Cornflake Squares

If you aren’t as handy in the kitchen as you would like to be, well this simple sweet treat is the recipe for you. It is great for a little bite for a party or just to share around with your friends and is my own invention. I didn’t have enough colours to do a rainbow to celebrate marriage equality in USA this week but the intention and thought was there 🙂

IMG_1346

This is the third and final recipe of my Birthday Cake Week, although I’m not sure this qualifies as a cake. This was inspired by Cupcake Jemma’s Rainbow Rocky Road which looks absolutely amazing and you can watch the video here:

Cornflakes are not just for breakfast, I think they are really versatile. Here are some recipes that I have posted on the blog that shows they can be eaten without a bowl of milk, my Cornflake Crumble Cake and my Cornflake and Almond Tart

Cornflake Crumble CakeIMG_0134

I have loved celebrating my Birthday week with these recipes and I would love to do something like this again.

And with that, I would like to announce that I am travelling to Hong Kong this summer and I will be blogging from Hong Kong every day and I’m looking for suggestions on what you want me to blog about. Clearly I will blog about food but if there are any places, any specific recipes or any topics you want me to cover, let me know in the comments. I’m already considering the markets, the street food and the bakeries but there is an entire state to visit.

While I’m asking for suggestions, I’d love to know what recipes you want me to cook/bake in the future. Feel free to be as specific or as vague as you like and feel free to leave as many as you want!


Back to the Rainbow White Chocolate Cornflake Squares, here are some other bloggers who have similar recipes:

  • Howard Middleton’s Rose-scented Raspberry Biscuits

http://howardmiddleton.com/rose-scented-raspberry-biscuits/

  • All About Eats’ Strawberry and White Chocolate Scones and White Chocolate Peanut Butter Blondies

https://allabouteatsblog.wordpress.com/2015/04/11/strawberry-and-white-chocolate-scones/

https://allabouteatsblog.wordpress.com/2015/05/17/white-chocolate-peanut-butter-blondies/


75g margarine

60g golden syrup

150g white chocolate, broken into squares

150g unsweetened cornflakes

40g icing sugar

About 1 tbsp milk

Food colouring pastes, which colours is up to you, I used purple and green for contrast

25g dark chocolate

Hundreds and thousands


Line a 20cm square tin with some aluminium foil such that it overlaps around the outside of the tin. You could alternatively use a disposable foil tin which you can buy from discount stores.

In the microwave, or over the hob in a saucepan if you prefer, place the margarine and golden syrup into a heatproof jug, bowl or cup. Microwave for 30 seconds until the margarine is melted and the syrup is liquid. Add the white chocolate squares and stir. If it is starting to set or the chocolate has not fully melted, add 1 tablespoon of milk and heat for a further 15 seconds and stir to combine.

Pour over the cornflakes in a large bowl and use two spoons to mix together. It will not be enough to bring the cornflakes completely together but it will set the cornflakes. Pour into the foil and using the back of a spoon, press out into an even layer. Refrigerate.

Make the icing by mixing the icing sugar and milk until it is a thick but runny icing that falls off the spoon. Split the mixture in half and colour each half a contrasting colour. Remove the cornflake squares from the fridge and drizzle over the icing randomly. Melt the chocolate in the microwave and drizzle over the chocolate. Sprinkle over the hundreds and thousands and then chill until it is completely set before cutting up into 25 small squares or 12 large squares.


I’m taking part in a weekly challenge for food bloggers and you can find out the details here.

 

4 thoughts on “‘Rainbow’ White Chocolate Cornflake Squares

  1. Pingback: Cornflake Streusel Cake: Revamped | Andrew in the Kitchen

    1. AndrewintheKitchen Post author

      Thanks, I use margarine simply because it’s what I have in the fridge. I will be getting more involved with it as I’ve had a lot of views from the page! It’s a great thing you’re doing 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think here:

