No-Bake Mixed Berry No-Cheesecake Flan

This dessert was my own invention after raiding through the cupboards and fridge-freezer, I found some digestive and custard creams, a half-eaten tub of natural yoghurt and some frozen berries. My mind switched to Masterchef Invention Test mode and I thought buttery biscuit base with the berries folded through yoghurt to make a cheesecake-style dessert. But the yoghurt was very liquid and so I added gelatine and the yoghurt set almost like a pannacotta. Trust me this dessert is very little effort but a great showstopper.

IMG_1450

I have to say, with my Masterchef head on, I didn’t really do much measuring however you can increase the amount of biscuit and margarine to go around the fluted edge of the flan tin and not just the base. I use a 23cm loose bottomed fluted tart tin, which is my ‘bake off’ tin i.e. the one tin I would have to take with me to film the show because it’s so special.


8 digestive biscuits, 4 custard creams – biscuit totalling the weight of 150g, crushed into fine crumbs

60g margarine, melted

200g frozen berries, you can use fresh if you prefer; they are in season now

250ml fat-free natural yoghurt

50ml honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp Robinson’s powdered gelatine mixed with 50ml boiling water and 50ml cold water – follow the instructions on your packet to set 284ml (1/2 pint) of liquid


Combine the crushed biscuit crumbs with the margarine until it feels like damp sand, melted more margarine if needed. Transfer to the tart tin, pressing the crumbs down evenly making sure there are no holes that the filling could seep through. Top with the frozen berries and place into the fridge while you make the filling.

IMG_1439

In a large bowl, mix the yoghurt with the honey and vanilla. In a separate bowl, prepare the gelatine mixture. Add about 2 tablespoons of the yoghurt to the gelatine, stir and return back to the yoghurt, mixing again until it is incorporated. Pour into the set base and the juice from the berries will seep into the yoghurt but this is expected. Give the tin a shake to level out the filling and chill for around 2 hours until set.

IMG_1441

Cut into thin wedges and serve with some Chantilly cream or ice cream and fresh berries.


I am taking part in a food blogger challenge you can read about here

 

 

4 thoughts on “No-Bake Mixed Berry No-Cheesecake Flan

  1. Pingback: Ice Cream Float and Berry Cheesecake Semifreddo | Andrew in the Kitchen

Tell me what you think here:

