Hong Kong Day 1

So it’s the first day I’ve been in Hong Kong and it’s already been full of food! Ranging from market restaurants to McDonalds, I think I’ve covered quite the spectrum of food possibilities here in Hong Kong.

Not having eaten anything on the plane, I was notably hungry and the only thing I wanted was something comforting, something to fill my empty stomach and the golden M was all that was on my mind. The McSpicy fillet burger is my personal favourite, despite the problems surrounding this burger last year (something to do with the source of the chicken, I’m still not really sure) and you simply will never get anything like this in the UK. Costing $40.80 (around £3.40) for a meal, this was pretty amazing and I loved every bite of it! I am unashamed to say I didn’t think it could be topped.

So it was time for dinner with the whole family and we went to Tai Po Hui Market. Now being allergic to fish and seafood, going out to eat in Hong Kong is a bit problematic when fish is a popular option. So I was left with Capital Pork Chops and a bowl of rice. It’s fair to say I wasn’t full after the dinner but among the other dishes included Cuttlefish Balls, Steamed Bream, Salt and Pepper Squid and Whole Stir-Fried Crab.


  
And I also came up with a new drink that will get me drunk one day; Orange Juice + Cold Beer. It might exist but all I know is that it’s delicious!


So we went for a walk around a local square and found a dim sum store and I decided to get a Fried Pork Bun and some Pork Gyozas, that cost $5 and $14 respectively (£0.40 and £1.20) and I was satisfied. They came with this great chilli dipping sauce, almost like a salsa.


 So that’s my first day in Hong Kong in food. I’d love to know what you all think of it!

Tell me what you think here:

