Silicone moulds – the future of baking?

Baking is supposed to have never been easier with the creation of silicone baking tins. Most have adapted well to silicone moulds but many people stayed true to the metal baking tins that have stood the test of time. I own very few silicone moulds but I do love making cupcakes in the silicone cupcake moulds because it is just so easy. But I have also had a few nightmares baking in silicone. Is silicone going to replace the good old classic metal tins and do they have a place in our kitchen?

Silicone cupcakes Silicone hemisphere

Let me start off by saying that silicone kitchen utensils are present in my kitchen; the silicone spatula is my favourite utensil in the kitchen since it scrapes around the mixing bowl so well and is just as good at a metal spoon at folding and it is heatproof. I have a few silicone cake tins and most of them are novelty. I have a teddy bear, a chicken, a rabbit and an alien from Toy Story.

The biggest advantages of the silicone baking tins are how easy the cakes are to remove and how easy they are to clean up. Their flexibility lends to easy cake removal since you can just push the cake out and you can turn them inside out to wash them up. The flexibility also means they store much more easily than metal tins; they will retain their shape no matter how squashed up they are. Unlike metal tins they don’t rust or stain and they are also very light.

The most attractive quality about silicone is that you supposedly do not need to grease the moulds. It is unfortunate that the cakes I made recently did in fact stick to the mould and also broke when being turned out of the mould, nothing a quick icing and some melted white chocolate details couldn’t fix however. This experience leaves me divided about how good silicone moulds truly are. They clearly have many benefits but the fact that my cake stuck to the mould eliminates many of the good quality since it is one of the biggest appeals. I’ve had no such problems with the silicone cupcake cases so maybe this was a one off.

IMG_1093 IMG_1094 IMG_1085 IMG_1091

Despite this, here are some tips to using silicone moulds:

  • Always place the silicone mould onto a baking tray in the oven to provide stability
  • Always cool completely in the mould to retain any shape
  • Do not use sharp knives in the moulds or it will cause damage
  • Invert the moulds to wash them easily
  • All moulds are freezer, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and oven safe

Silicone moulds are available incredibly cheaply here in Hong Kong and come in all different novelty shapes, ranging from Hello Kitty to the aliens from Toy Story which I had to buy. I’ll admit silicone moulds are brilliant and for many bakers they are the go-to choice of baking mould, especially for novelty cakes but personally I haven’t got the knack of using them. For the beginner I think they would be a great way to start baking, no need for greasing and easy to wash and store but as an advanced baker I still prefer baking in metal tins.

Tell me what you think here:

