Food Bloggers: Get To Know Me Better #fdbloggersgtk

The wonderful Loriley (www.lorileysesh.com) has had another one of her brilliant ideas, coming up the #fdbloggersgtk post in which food bloggers answer a set of questions about themselves and their blogs to get to know them better. Here we go 🙂

fdbloggersgtk

Name: 

Andrew (if you couldn’t tell from my site :))

Blog: 

https://andrewinthekitchen.wordpress.com/

What was your reason for starting a blog?

I always love this question because I never actually know the answer. This sounds strange but I only started the blog on an instinct. I suppose it really started when I did my GCSE Food Technology coursework on The Great British Bake Off and I just felt like posting the things I was cooking online. Soon I connected to Twitter and I started to grow my blog from simply posting recipes to sharing my foodie brain with the world.

I saw people looking at my blog from Thailand and Australia and I realised just how my blog could have an impact all around the world. This, with a burning desire to use the blog as a potential job, really fuelled my interest in the blog and soon I was dedicating hours to writing posts and here we are today with Andrew in the Kitchen having its own Twitter account.

What’s the dish you’re most proud of?

In terms of showstopping quality, I am most happy with my Trifle Cake. It’s nothing special (because everything was shopbought) however it does what I think I am pretty well known for now and that’s taking ingredients and putting them together in a different and creative way to make them amazing.

IMG_1203

But I am most proud of my Quick Kimchi. I never thought I would be the kind of person to start fermenting cabbage yet I invented this kimchi recipe and some of the teachers at school have tried making it themselves. It has the authentic colour and flavour of traditional kimchi and I would love to see others try making it!

IMG_1328 IMG_1330

What one kitchen utensil could you not live without?

Kitchen scales are key to baking; baking is not hard, it’s following the recipe and weighing accurately. With a good set of digital scales (which you can buy cheaply), you are halfway there to a good bake.

You’re stranded on a desert island. What three ingredients do you take with you?

Flour, honey and pork belly. Sounds strange but with flour, you can make flatbread simply by adding water. I chose honey because it works well with both sweet and savoury dishes and if I was ill, the first thing I’d do is add honey to warm water. And my favourite cut of meat has to be pork belly; it’s cheap and it makes the best crackling!

Pork Belly

Who do you take inspiration from?

Other food blogs have inspired me to bring my blog to where it is today but from outside the blogging community, Mary Berry and Nigella Lawson both inspire me. From the sporting world, I am inspired by the talented Tom Daley and Jack Laugher (pronounced law)

Your favourite social platform?

I am only on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest so I have to say Twitter for its help in sharing my blog and connecting me to many other foodies and Pinterest for the wonderful amount of food photos on there that make you drool and inspire you.

Biggest disaster in the kitchen?

I haven’t had so many disasters recently (I’m glad) because I make sure I weigh accurately and follow the recipe exactly. I remember I had an electric brownie maker and I didn’t really follow a recipe and I put way way too much sugar in. So when we opened up the machine, there was literally nothing there as all the sugar had turned to caramel. From that moment onwards, I have only made brownies once and I don’t think I’ve used that machine since. But I baked a banana bread earlier this year and the recipe called for 3 bananas and only 125g of the other ingredients so following the recipe exactly, it took 75 minutes to ‘bake’ rather than the stipulated 40 minutes. When I cut a slice off, there was no aeration whatsoever; it was like a paste however it did taste rather special. I actually secretly preferred it to a light cake!

Favourite spot for coffee?

Forgive me but I’m not a coffee fan. I mean I will drink it but I’m much more a cup of tea fan.

Favourite food photo you’ve taken?

The focus, lighting and perspective on these Sugar-free Chocolate Brownies is my favourite on the blog.

Sugar Free Chocolate Brownies

However I took these photos from my trip to Hong Kong, I love the colours.

IMG_1573 IMG_1564-0 IMG_1569

What would you say was your most successful blog post and why?

It depends on how you rate success. My most viewed blog post is The Basic Rules of Cooking: Your Guide to Meat. My most liked post is one of my most recent recipes, my White Chocolate Crumble Cake. But for me, my most successful post is the one that, I think, revolutionised my blog and it’s ‘Should cooking be compulsory for secondary school students under 18’. I wrote, for almost the first time on my blog, freely about a topic I’m passionate about and I really became excited to post it so much so I broke my once a week posting schedule.

Now nominate three food bloggers you’d like to get to know more.

The wonderful Flora Shedden from this year’s #GBBO, All About Eats and Lauren Caris, I nominate you for #fdbloggersgtk. I look forward to seeing your answers.

2 thoughts on “Food Bloggers: Get To Know Me Better #fdbloggersgtk

  1. Loriley

    That’s such a great idea to do your Food Tech project on GBBO! I remember doing food tech at school and being awful at it! We only got to cook once every two months or something crazy! Those Hong Kong photos are so beautiful. I agree – love all the colours. Thanks for sharing your answers, Andrew 🙂 Loriley x

    Like

    Reply

Tell me what you think here:

