Cookbooks and Reviews from 2015: Reflection

In 2015 I accumulated almost 20 cookbooks, getting 6 of them in the last week of the year in the sales. Thrift is always one of my strengths as I braved the sales. Here is a picture of some of my favourite cookbooks from my 2015 haul:

IMG_2611

My particular highlights from this selection are:

  • The Diet for Food Lovers
  • Bread, Cake, Doughnut, Pudding
  • Dinner’s On
  • Lola’s Forever
  • John Whaite Bakes At Home
  • Simply Nigella

Any of these 6 books would make any food lover happy. They contain brilliant recipes, some of which I have tried already, and lots of information that you can take on board. For example, from Lola’s Forever, I now always add Greek yoghurt into my cupcakes for a lighter and softer crumb.

IMG_2602 IMG_2612 IMG_2613

But books weren’t the only new thing to enter my house, food-wise that is. In my house, currently, I have 3 different jars of peanut butter. One of them is my standard baking peanut butter, one of them is a 1kg tub of organic peanut butter and the other is a banana peanut butter from The Wild Peanut. I won the Meridian Organic Peanut Butter in a competition and the Banana Peanut Butter is currently being used for a product review. And whilst my self-imposed baking ban for the rest of 2015 has now been lifted, it’s going to be a while before I write this review. I endeavour to have it out by February.

TWP

Another product review I am doing is with Melitimon Honey. They are a Greek honey company and when I tasted the thyme honey I was given, I was blown away. It was miles better than the runny honey from the supermarket and I am looking forward to this review, again coming out late January.

In 2016 I am definitely hoping to do more product reviews and work with more companies. I always love being challenged to think outside of the box with some products and come up with new recipes to use them in. I also hope to expand my cookbook collection to 100 books – I am currently at 75 books so this shouldn’t be too difficult.

Tomorrow I am going to discuss my 6-week weight loss plan. There’s nothing faddy on there. Just some simple rules and visualisations of what I am eating to make myself more aware of what I am eating. But more on that tomorrow.

If you have any cookbook recommendations or products you think I would be interested in reviewing, please let me know in the comments!

Tell me what you think here:

