My 2016 Weight Loss Plan: I’ll Start on Monday

With 2016 well on its way to becoming 2017, it also means that the New Year Resolutions have also started. Most will look to losing weight or becoming healthier, and that is one of my goals too. I don’t want to lose weight and not enjoy the food I’m eating. So I came up with this new weight loss plan so you don’t have to radicalise your diet and change your diet for the better.

Using some A4 lined paper cut up into pieces with a black whiteboard pen, scissors, a ruler and some Blu-Tack, I put this up on my bedroom wall:

IMG_2609

The thing I hate about fad diets is that they radically change your diet in a short space of time. The body goes into ‘shock’ and so not only do you drop weight quicker (which experts say is bad for the body) but when you return to your old diet, you gain most of the weight back, if not all of it.

My diet plan makes small changes to your lifestyle and encourages you to eat better foods and eliminate temptations over a period of 6 weeks. It works on a point system where your goal each week is to accumulate a total of 50 points. How do you earn points? Well that’s really up to you. I wrote down a list of all the healthy recipes that I could cook over the 6 weeks as well as all of the high fat and high sugar snacks and foods that I eat. I also wrote down some exercises that I could do daily on this list too and then I assigned them points ranging from +5 to -5.

  • +5, a high intensity exercise routine/class you wouldn’t do normally
  • +4, an incredibly healthy meal high in fibre, protein, antioxidants, vitamins and low in fat, sugar and salt, a medium/low intensity exercise routine/class you wouldn’t do normally
  • +3, a healthy meal high in fibre, protein, antioxidants, vitamins and low in fat, sugar and salt, a high intensity exercise routine/class you do normally, not giving into an unhealthy temptation for a week
  • +2, a good meal with loads of vegetables with healthy amounts of fibre, protein, vitamins and low in fat, sugar and salt, a medium/low intensity exercise routine/class you do normally, not giving into a temptation for a week
  • +1, a home cooked meal which has good amount of vegetable, fibre, protein, vitamins and a relatively low amount of fat, sugar and salt, a healthy snack (i.e. fruit, nuts and seeds), healthy alternatives to your normal diet (e.g. feta cheese instead of cheddar), 2 cups of water, diluted fruit juices etc
  • 0, a small change to your diet (such as having no sugar in your tea) which would otherwise lose a point, reduced amounts of unhealthy foods
  • -1, unhealthy temptations
  • -2, no exercise in a day, drinking sodas and unhealthy meals
  • -3, bad temptations and meals, drinking no additional water daily
  • -4, eating no fruit or vegetables daily
  • -5, the worst meal you could possibly eat, high in fat, sugar, salt and low in fibre, protein etc

Write them all on small pieces of lined paper with the points in the corner and stick them onto your wall so you end up with something like this:

IMG_2624

The diet plan is simple. Live your life as normally as possible but keep track of your points daily. If you are not reaching 50 points at the end of each week, you know you need to address your lifestyle and make changes appropriately. Of course you don’t have to abide by the meals/food I have points for because my lifestyle as a student and working in a Chinese takeaway is very different to the working adult so adapt it to your own preferences.

4

This diet doesn’t have to be just for the start of the year; it can be anytime of the year, all you have to do is switch the paper around a bit. Psychologically, the physical representation of your lifestyle in a visible numerical form which you will see every day helps to keep you on track. Of course you can change it for different weeks, add in more foods to the list as you go along.

I will be posting some of the recipes I am cooking (and have cooked, I have 12 plastic containers with meals to keep me going for a while!) over the next month and keep you updated on the progress.

IMG_2615 IMG_2619

If you like the sound of my diet plan, which brings new meaning to ‘I’ll Start on Monday’, please let me know in the comments below, as well as any of your weight loss tips.

And it seems eating good food is also on the mind of Tracy from The Little Pink Kitchen. Read her post entitled Never Say Diet!

6 thoughts on “My 2016 Weight Loss Plan: I’ll Start on Monday

  1. Pingback: Chickpea and Vegetable Curry | Andrew in the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Spring Green, Sausage and Baked Bean Pasta Bake | Andrew in the Kitchen

  3. Pingback: My 2016 Weight Loss Plan: I’ll Start on Monday | Sharing and Traveling

    1. AndrewintheKitchen Post author

      Thanks Stacey for the comment, glad you like it, I am also a fan of it because I don’t have to give up the chocolate or biscuits, it should teach me to control portion size and resist temptations!!

      Like

      Reply

Tell me what you think here:

