Spiced Cauliflower, Chickpea and Potato Salad

Simply Nigella has to be one of my favourite cookbooks in my collection. Nigella Lawson has many books out but this is the first one I have. And this book is just bang on trend with 3 recipes for bundt cakes, multiple recipes containing coconut oil and more than a fair few containing buckwheat flour.

And whilst I guarantee I won’t be making the Black Rice Noodles, I could see myself making the Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies or the Nutella Brownies. One of the savoury recipes I have already tried however is the Spiced Cauliflower and Chickpea Salad.

IMG_2662

Now I’m not a fan of pomegranate seeds so I have changed the recipe a lot to suit my taste and budget. I’ve changed the harissa paste to a spiced tomato salsa mixture and I use frozen cauliflower which I partially defrost by soaking in hot water before cooking. This also makes sure it cooks in time. Whilst Nigella serves this on a bed of parsley, I think it is best served in a gem lettuce cup or with some steaming hot fluffy rice. It’s also a great side to any meal.

This recipe is enough for 3 portions but I made this ahead and kept it in plastic containers in the fridge for later in the week. Nigella recommends keeping for only 2 days and this was also the same for me.


600g frozen cauliflower florets

3 tbsp vegetable oil

150g tomato salsa

2 tsp tomato puree

2 tsp sugar

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tsp dried chilli flakes

2 tsp ground cumin

4 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper, to taste

1 x 400g tin of chickpeas, drained

1 x 560g tin of new potatoes, drained and halved

Preheat the oven to 200°C. Line a roasting tin with foil.

Put the cauliflower florets into a heatproof bowl and pour over a litre of hot (but not boiling water) water. Leave to defrost for about 15 minutes. Drain the cauliflower well, shaking off any excess water and pour into the roasting tin with the oil and season with salt and pepper.

Place in the oven for 15 minutes until the cauliflower florets are soft inside (test this with a knife like a potato) and set aside. If they are too large, cut them into the same size as the potatoes.

In a separate bowl, mix together the salsa, tomato puree, sugar, spices and olive oil. Season well. Adding in the cauliflower florets (as well as any liquid in the tin), the drained chickpeas and chopped new potatoes. Toss well so everything is coated – you could do this in the tin if you want to.

Return to the oven for a further 15 minutes until everything is warmed through and cooked and the sauce is slightly charred on the vegetables.

One thought on “Spiced Cauliflower, Chickpea and Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Spiced Cauliflower, Chickpea and Potato Salad | Just an Opinion

Tell me what you think here:

