Hong Kong Book Fair: Addicted to Buying Cookbooks! #AITKitchenInHK 

Today we went to the Hong Kong Book Fair held in the Exhibition Centre in Wan Chai. Held annually at the end of July, the Book Fair celebrates the Chinese love of reading, whether that be Chinese or foreign literature.
Tickets to enter the Book Fair were $25HKD which I thought was a reasonable price for the sheer size of the event. There were 2 floors, the lower floor had the majority of the books while upstairs was stationery and children’s books.

Before we went to the book fair, we went to yum cha again at Choi Fook Restaurant in Tai Po with my other great aunt and uncle. The food didn’t change much since we ate there last but I did manage to get a good picture of the kitchen, you can see the sheer size of the kitchen required to keep dim sum flowing out of there for at least 6 hours!


At the book fair, I found a stand by the book shop Popular which had cookbooks for $20. I had already purchased cookbooks from other Popular shops around Hong Kong, also for $20. But there had a greater range of cookbooks here and I couldn’t resist the buy 10 get 1 free offer! So I ended with 11 books for $200 (£19.69). I also couldn’t resist buying Marshmallows by Tim Kinnaird for just $50 which was down from $127. It was by this time that I was aching from carrying around the books in my backpack, which was in traditional Hong Kong style on my front.


 After we left Wan Chai, we crossed the river over to Tsim Sha Tsui by the Star Ferry which cost only $2.5. There was a fantastic breeze on the way, great for cooling ourselves down, and some more fantastic views. I was stuck in the middle and couldn’t stand up but I still managed to get a few pictures.


 Then we made our way to Silvercord, a shopping centre in TST which we went to last year. There, I had a Korean Mixed Vegetable Rice with Beef which was like a bibimbap. It wasn’t too spicy and I wish there was more kimchi but I couldn’t complain for $54. Afterwards we had a Crushed Ice in 3 Traditional Flavours, with taro, red bean and kidney beans. I spoke last year about how crushed ice was about the best thing in the world and tomorrow we are going to be eating more desserts so stay tuned!!


  
 Remember that you can stay up to date with all of my holiday by reading my daily posts and looking up #AITKitchenInHK!

Tell me what you think here:

